by neverenteredmymind

Time flies.

“This life is like a breath..”


Some days this feels so painfully far from the truth. Those days when I watch the minutes crawl by, willing their passing so that the next moment, day, season can finally come and with it the hope of more happiness than the present time is offering. Always waiting for the next thing. Never content with where I am now. And yet, inevitably, when I finally reach that next thing and look back, the heavy weight of moments lost in this place called the past press down on my soul with the unbearable realization of time as fleeting. Like rushing water through my fingertips. Leaving only a faint trace of what I had yesterday. Only a feeling of confused sadness and memories of things lost.

It is beyond my grasp that there is an eternal Creator who sees my life from beginning to end like a line on a piece of paper. Always knowing the full picture of my story intertwined with all of creation, above and beyond time and the worldly measures of it.

Yet, the only way to find peace is to continuously reach for the comprehension of this other worldly truth.

Show me, Lord, my life’s end and the number of my days; let me know how fleeting my life is. You have made my days a mere handbreath; the span of my years is nothing before you. Everyone is but a breath, even those who seem secure. Surely everyone goes around like a mere phantom; in vain they rush about, heaping up wealth, without knowing whose it will finally be. But now Lord what do I look for? My hope is in you… Surely everyone is but a breath.

Psalm 39

Photo via Adam Golfer

